[Solved] Problems using "HomebrewMenu"

Post Reply
RyouArashi
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2009 9:23 pm

[Solved] Problems using "HomebrewMenu"

Post by RyouArashi » Fri Jun 19, 2009 12:12 pm

I want to use NitroFS in my current project, however my hardware [M3 DS Real + M3Sakura V1.35 USA/Europe]
does not support the "argv"-Stuff needed by NitroFS. I have downloaded and modified the HomebrewMenu mentioned
in http://forums.devkitpro.org/viewtopic.php?p=2607#p2607 to directly launch another NDS file by setting

Code: Select all

const char DEFAULT_FILE[] = "Test.nds";
Test.nds as well as the launcher is stored in the Root folder of the SD card an contains the program
(based on \examples\nds\filesystem\nitrofs\nitrodir)

Code: Select all

#include <nds.h>
#include <filesystem.h>
#include <stdio.h>

/******************************************************************************/
int main(int argc, char **argv)
/******************************************************************************/ 
{
  consoleDemoInit();
  
  while(1) 
  {
    touchPosition P;
    consoleClear();
    
    printf("argv[0] = %s\n", argv[0]);
  
    scanKeys();
    touchRead(&P);
    printf("KeysHeld = %i\n", keysHeld());
    printf("Touch    = %i, %i", P.px, P.py);

    swiWaitForVBlank();
  }
  return 0;
}
If I run Test.nds on no$gba 2.6 or hardware (w/o HomebrewMenu) everything works fine:

Code: Select all

argv[0] = (null)
KeysHeld = 0
Touch    = 0,0
with values changing according to input.

When I launch the same file using HomebrewMenu, argv is set correctly but the keys X,Y and Touchscreen are not working.
Also KeysHeld gives the value 8192 if no key is pressed. All working keys are "or'ed" to 8192. Touch remains 0,0.

Code: Select all

argv[0] = fat:/test.nds
KeysHeld = 8192
Touch    = 0,0
My current installation of devktiPro is: (installed.ini)

Code: Select all

[mirror]
url=

[msys]
Version=1.0.11-RC2

[devkitARM]
Version=26

[devkitPPC]
Version=0

[devkitPSP]
Version=0

[libgba]
Version=20090222

[libnds]
Version=1.3.5

[libmirko]
Version=0.9.7

[pnotepad]
Version=0

[insight]
Version=0

[ndsexamples]
Version=20090531

[gbaexamples]
Version=20090222

[cubeexamples]
Version=0

[pspdoc]
Version=0
[libgbafat]
Version=1.0.4
[libndsfat]
Version=1.0.4
[defaultarm7]
Version=0.5.4
[dswifi]
Version=0.3.9
[filesystem]
Version=0.9.2
[maxmodds]
Version=1.0.5
Any idea what's going wrong here?
Last edited by RyouArashi on Fri Jun 26, 2009 10:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

StevenH
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 7:59 pm

Re: Problems using "HomebrewMenu"

Post by StevenH » Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:45 pm

I just ran your test code on a DSi using EzFlash Vi cart - using my HomebrewMenu (which is the one you download, without the change you made) + fix (#include <stdio.h> to fix the iprintf issue) I get the same results as you.

Running your code on desmume and your code acts just like on hardware.

Mind you I did change the output for the buttons to be %04x (to give me an idea of what buttons are being pressed) and I could get every button to work apart from X / Y buttons.

I know that I'm experiencing some minor issues on my DSi with the EzFlash Vi - I can't use colors! any more as there is no pressure detected, yet the new Brain Training DSiWare app looks like it's using pressure on my name (it might just be faking it as well). As for why this issue is not working, I'm not sure, it does seem a little strange, as looking at the number for the touch button (8192) the system seems to think that you have the Y button held down constantly...

I even added the nitrofs init code, just in case that has something to do with it - same thing happens...

I think this is one for WinterMute or dovoto...

RyouArashi
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2009 9:23 pm

Re: Problems using "HomebrewMenu"

Post by RyouArashi » Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:38 am

Thanks for testing. I was also thinking about something being wrong with my installation...

I suspect that theres something wrong on the ARM7 side, e.g. it the ARM7 binary
not being loaded properly or being out of sync or something... But I have no idea how
to check or fix this...

WinterMute
Site Admin
Posts: 1845
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Problems using "HomebrewMenu"

Post by WinterMute » Wed Jun 24, 2009 2:53 pm

Try again with the latest libnds & default arm7 releases. There was also an extra delay in the Homebrew menu boot code which has been removed in SVN.
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

Personal Blog

RyouArashi
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2009 9:23 pm

Re: Problems using "HomebrewMenu"

Post by RyouArashi » Fri Jun 26, 2009 1:50 pm

Updated to latest libnds and arm7 and redownloaded HomebrewMenu, recompiled and everything works fine : -)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests