View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Jul 29, 2014 7:49 pm



Reply to topic  [ 61 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
 create 3d and include 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:05 pm
Posts: 212
http://forum.gbadev.org/viewtopic.php?t=14947

as far as i know it is in every download of ndsmodelexporter

ask google for jre


Wed Feb 16, 2011 11:45 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 5:26 pm
Posts: 85
thanks! I got it now!


Thu Feb 17, 2011 4:22 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 5:26 pm
Posts: 85
Is it possible to add more textures to one mesh?
I create my models with 'Blender', but when I add a texture to the model with Blender and
save this file as a .3ds file and try convert it with the ndsmodelexporter.jar it just freeze!
How can I add a texture to the model that it display it correct like in the env_mapping ex-
ample in the devkitpro\examples\nds folder?


Sat Feb 19, 2011 1:16 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:05 pm
Posts: 212
maybe the exporter is flaky. you may be out of luck. you may have to give up. nobody guarantees that any of that java model conversion junk works.


Sun Feb 20, 2011 1:52 am
Profile

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 5:26 pm
Posts: 85
Do you work with 3d stuff?
How can I see a model I created with a good texture (I don't know how to create a texture and which fits to the model!!) in my game?
Is this so hard, I saw many nice 3d games for the DS!


Sun Feb 20, 2011 4:44 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 10:57 pm
Posts: 106
Location: Costa Rica
You seem to think we have some kind of standard tool to place 3D figures in a .nds application. We don't. Everything you see in 3D on the DS is either 1) Built with Nintendo-supplied tools (and therefore only seen in "official" games), or 2) Hand-crafted by experienced hobbyists / developers.

Read a little about 3D APIs. Read gbatek ( http://nocash.emubase.de/gbatek.htm ) . Study both well. Maybe, after doing this, you will finally figure what's needed to create 3D games for the DS.

By the way, if after doing this, you come out with a handy set of tools you yourself just created to do 3D with the toolchains, be a nice guy and share them with all of us. Deal?


Mon Feb 21, 2011 2:48 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 5:26 pm
Posts: 85
Quote:
Deal?

Deal! If I invent something or found something I will tell you!

I wrote a simple script which shows a model (made out of 11 other models):
Code:
#include <nds.h>


#include "m1_bin.h"
#include "m2_bin.h"
#include "m3_bin.h"
#include "m4_bin.h"
#include "m5_bin.h"
#include "m6_bin.h"
#include "m7_bin.h"
#include "m8_bin.h"
#include "m9_bin.h"
#include "m10_bin.h"
#include "m11_bin.h"

#include "cafe_bin.h"


static void get_pen_delta( int *dx, int *dy )
{
   static int prev_pen[2] = { 0x7FFFFFFF, 0x7FFFFFFF };
   touchPosition touchXY;
   
   u32 keys = keysHeld();

   if( keys & KEY_TOUCH )
   {
      
      touchRead(&touchXY);

      if( prev_pen[0] != 0x7FFFFFFF )
      {
         *dx = (prev_pen[0] - touchXY.rawx);
         *dy = (prev_pen[1] - touchXY.rawy);
      }

      prev_pen[0] = touchXY.rawx;
      prev_pen[1] = touchXY.rawy;
   }
   else
   {
      prev_pen[0] = prev_pen[1] = 0x7FFFFFFF;
      *dx = *dy = 0;
   }
}


int main()
{

   int rotateX = 0;
   int rotateY = 0;

   //set mode 0, enable BG0 and set it to 3D
   videoSetMode(MODE_0_3D);

   // intialize gl
   glInit();
   
   // enable antialiasing
   glEnable(GL_ANTIALIAS);
   
   // setup the rear plane
   glClearColor(0,0,0,31); // BG must be opaque for AA to work
   glClearPolyID(63); // BG must have a unique polygon ID for AA to work
   glClearDepth(0x7FFF);

   //this should work the same as the normal gl call
   glViewport(0,0,255,191);

   vramSetBankA(VRAM_A_TEXTURE);
   glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_2D);
   
   int cafe_texid;
   glGenTextures( 1, &cafe_texid );
   glBindTexture( 0, cafe_texid );
   glTexImage2D( 0, 0, GL_RGB, TEXTURE_SIZE_128 , TEXTURE_SIZE_128, 0, GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_S|GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_T|TEXGEN_NORMAL, (u8*)cafe_bin );

   
   //any floating point gl call is being converted to fixed prior to being implemented
   glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
   glLoadIdentity();
   gluPerspective(100, 256.0 / 192.0, 0.1, 40);
   
   while(1)
   {
      //TEXGEN_NORMAL helpfully pops our normals into this matrix and uses the result as texcoords
      glMatrixMode(GL_TEXTURE);
      glLoadIdentity();
      GLvector tex_scale = { 64<<16, -64<<16, 1<<16 };
      glScalev( &tex_scale );      //scale normals up from (-1,1) range into texcoords
      glRotateXi(rotateX);      //rotate texture-matrix to match the camera
      glRotateYi(rotateY);


      glMatrixMode(GL_POSITION);
      glLoadIdentity();
      glTranslatef32(0, 0, floattof32(-3));
      glRotateXi(rotateX);
      glRotateYi(rotateY);

      glMaterialf(GL_EMISSION, RGB15(31,31,31));

      glPolyFmt(POLY_ALPHA(31) | POLY_CULL_BACK );

      scanKeys();
      u32 keys = keysHeld();


      if( keys & KEY_UP ) rotateX += 3<<3;
      if( keys & KEY_DOWN ) rotateX -= 3<<3;
      if( keys & KEY_LEFT ) rotateY += 3<<3;
      if( keys & KEY_RIGHT ) rotateY -= 3<<3;

      int pen_delta[2];
      get_pen_delta( &pen_delta[0], &pen_delta[1] );
      rotateY -= pen_delta[0];
      rotateX -= pen_delta[1];


   //   glBindTexture( 0, cafe_texid );
      glCallList((u32*)m1_bin);   
        glCallList((u32*)m2_bin);
      glCallList((u32*)m3_bin);
      glCallList((u32*)m4_bin);
      glCallList((u32*)m5_bin);
      glCallList((u32*)m6_bin);
      glCallList((u32*)m7_bin);
      glCallList((u32*)m8_bin);
      glCallList((u32*)m9_bin);
      glCallList((u32*)m10_bin);
      glCallList((u32*)m11_bin);
      glFlush(0);
   }

   return 0;
}//end main

But I have no textures yet what you can see on the pic is the color of the model.
But why isn't there any shadow?


Attachments:
File comment: the model
test.png [2.11 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
Tue Feb 22, 2011 5:26 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:05 pm
Posts: 212
first, quit wasting your time on models. that is level 10 and you are at level 1. work through the nehe examples first.
next, if you insist on wasting your time, you have unwisely chosen an environment mapping demo which just makes things more complicated for you. choose another demo to start from.


Wed Feb 23, 2011 8:47 am
Profile

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 5:26 pm
Posts: 85
Quote:
work through the nehe examples first.

hm okay I will do this.

How is it possible to animate the models? I mean when I load a mesh it is static and not formable. Do I have to code
the polygons and vertexes and change the positions of them to animate something, isn't there no better way?


Wed Feb 23, 2011 12:53 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:43 am
Posts: 82
lazyprogramer wrote:
Quote:
work through the nehe examples first.

hm okay I will do this.

How is it possible to animate the models? I mean when I load a mesh it is static and not formable. Do I have to code
the polygons and vertexes and change the positions of them to animate something, isn't there no better way?


That's about level 15.

Try:
    1. Keyframe animation (easy and fast but a memory hog)
    2. Skining(Bone-animation) with matrices (artifacts galore)
    3. Skining(Bone-animation) with quaternion slerping ( de facto standard )


Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:44 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 61 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
  Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software.
Get devkitPro at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads