Page 1 of 1

libnds 1.4.4 now available

Posted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 12:01 pm
by WinterMute
libnds 1.4.4 and default arm7 0.5.13 along with updated ds examples are now available through the windows installer as usual and from the getting started page on the wiki.


libnds 1.4.4
  • Refactored and improved eeprom detection code.
  • changed timerStop() to clear the entire register and an internal variable.
  • added timerTick(), timerPause(), timerStop(), timerUnpause() and cpuGetTiming() functions.
  • fixed overflow bug in timerElapsed.
  • restored stderr output on default console.
  • added oamClearSprite() to clear a single sprite.
  • corrected keyboard = symbol.
  • startup code allocates VRAM A, B, C & D to reasonable default - main bg, main obj, sub bg & sub obj.
  • improved and extended doxygen documentation.
default arm7 0.5.13
  • recompiled with latest libraries.
nds-examples 20100724
  • updates for new libnds.
  • added several new timer examples.
With thanks to vuurrobin for his major contributions to this release.

Re: libnds 1.4.4 now available

Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 6:00 pm
by ritz
Thanks for the updates.

I rebuilt my little project with the latest releases and have unfotunately lost my sound.

Sound worked with (binaries from SF):
- devkitARM r31
- libnds 1.4.3
- default arm7 0.5.12
- etc..

Sound not working with (binaries from SF):
- devkitARM r31
- libnds 1.4.5
- default arm7 0.5.13
- etc..

After digging around a bit, I discovered that the new default arm7 was the culprit. I took a look at default_arm7-src-0.5.13.tar.bz2 and found this line:

Code: Select all

*(vu16*)(0x04004700) = (1<<14) | 0x08;
The interesting part is that this line isn't in SVN. I couldn't really figure out what that address is either. My guess is that this is what's breaking the sound for me.

P.S. I didn't submit a bug report for this because it's not in SVN and I'm not sure if it's supposed to be there or not.

Re: libnds 1.4.4 now available

Posted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 12:27 am
by vuurrobin
according to gbatek, the 04000000h range is for I/O ports.

according to sourceforge, there has been a new default arm7 binary released 2 hours ago. so try updating and see if that fixes it.

if that doesn't work, you could try building the default arm7 binary from svn and see if that works. that should tell us if it already has been fixed in svn or not.

btw, are you using maxmod for sound or something else.

and WinterMute, my nickname is vuurrobin. double 'u', double 'r' and preferebly all lowercase.

edit: you also might want to update the docs at http://libnds.devkitpro.org/

Re: libnds 1.4.4 now available

Posted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 12:12 pm
by WinterMute
0x04004700 is a DSi register, something I was testing and apparently didn't create the dist tarballs before reverting to svn code, sorry. Fixed with latest release.

libnds online docs were updated on Monday, clear your browser cache. I should probably look at preventing the online docs from being cached since it looks like the filenames change when things are updated.

Nick fixed, sorry.

libnds was also updated for that stupid console issue :/

http://devkitpro.org/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=2067

Re: libnds 1.4.4 now available

Posted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 3:25 pm
by ritz
Works great now. Thanks for the quick update.

Re: libnds 1.4.4 now available

Posted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 4:29 pm
by MrAndini
Haave the "time" and "gmtime" functions been removed from this version of the library?

My code that previously compiled now says "warning implicit declaration of function " for both time and gmtime

I look in the sys folder for libnds and there is no time.h file.

Re: libnds 1.4.4 now available

Posted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 9:16 pm
by vuurrobin
they work for me.

check if you call the functions right, time takes an parameter.


and time.h is part of the c standard library, not libnds. is it is somewhere in the devkitARM directory.

Re: libnds 1.4.4 now available

Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:31 pm
by MrAndini
Thanks

I inclkuded time.h and all fixed now.
Seems one of the include files from the library must have previously included time.h so no errors previously.