Freeze with Acekard 2.1 -firmware Akaio 1.7.1-

Post Reply
sverx
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:56 pm
Location: github.com/sverx
Contact:

Freeze with Acekard 2.1 -firmware Akaio 1.7.1-

Post by sverx » Tue Aug 17, 2010 3:24 pm

Hi!
I recently updated to the latest devkitARM (dKA 31 and libnds 1.4.5) but now everything I compile and test on Acekard 2.1 (with Akaio 1.7.1 firmware) just freezes the DS with a plain nice white background.
That wasn't happening before, with dKA 30 and libnds 1.4.3 ... btw it's still working on my R4.
Anyone else facing that? Suggestions? :|
Thanks! :)

User avatar
coreyh2
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 12:43 am

Re: Freeze with Acekard 2.1 -firmware Akaio 1.7.1-

Post by coreyh2 » Wed Aug 18, 2010 3:27 am

I recompiled the examples and they are still working on my cycloDS. You should report this problem on the Akaio forum too. Maybe if they talk with Wintermute they could figure it out quick.

You might want to make sure you definitely have the latest version and your install is good too.

sverx
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:56 pm
Location: github.com/sverx
Contact:

Re: Freeze with Acekard 2.1 -firmware Akaio 1.7.1-

Post by sverx » Wed Aug 18, 2010 8:41 am

Can you please link me one of your compiled examples? I will download it and check if it works on the AceKard (which actually isn't mine but owned by one of my team mates...) so I can check if it's a problem with my PC or whatever...
(In the while I'm temporary back to the previous dkP version because in this moment I really need him to be able to check the software on his DS...)

Thanks! :)

WinterMute
Site Admin
Posts: 1478
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Freeze with Acekard 2.1 -firmware Akaio 1.7.1-

Post by WinterMute » Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:10 am

This works http://wiki.devkitpro.org/index.php/Homebrew_Menu

It would be interesting to know what the problem is with akaio though.
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

Personal Blog

sverx
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:56 pm
Location: github.com/sverx
Contact:

Re: Freeze with Acekard 2.1 -firmware Akaio 1.7.1-

Post by sverx » Wed Aug 18, 2010 1:32 pm

WinterMute wrote:This works http://wiki.devkitpro.org/index.php/Homebrew_Menu
It would be interesting to know what the problem is with akaio though.
You mean you tried running a compiled example on Akaio firmware and you faced the same problem?

WinterMute
Site Admin
Posts: 1478
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Freeze with Acekard 2.1 -firmware Akaio 1.7.1-

Post by WinterMute » Wed Aug 18, 2010 5:10 pm

No, I mean that hbmenu works fine on ak2i, I've never used akaio.

UPDATE: Until just now when I installed it on my ak2i and ran a bunch of the examples which all worked fine.

Did you update manually and not update the default arm7 by any chance?
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

Personal Blog

sverx
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:56 pm
Location: github.com/sverx
Contact:

Re: Freeze with Acekard 2.1 -firmware Akaio 1.7.1-

Post by sverx » Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:04 pm

No, I never update manually, I used the devkitProUpdater... but I'm not using the default arm7, since the project I'm using uses libXM7 and I need to call its functions from ARM7, you know.

Does the default ARM7 source changed since June?

WinterMute
Site Admin
Posts: 1478
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Freeze with Acekard 2.1 -firmware Akaio 1.7.1-

Post by WinterMute » Thu Aug 19, 2010 3:13 pm

Just a minor change in init order, nothing major -> http://devkitpro.svn.sourceforge.net/vi ... 84&r2=4239

Nothing much in the arm7 side of libnds that sticks out either. There's always the possibility that you ran into something in the new gcc, if you can reduce the problem to a simple testcase I'll have a look. Make sure you enable all warnings and fix them first though, you'd be amazed just how often that works for people :p
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

Personal Blog

sverx
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:56 pm
Location: github.com/sverx
Contact:

Re: Freeze with Acekard 2.1 -firmware Akaio 1.7.1-

Post by sverx » Thu Aug 19, 2010 4:16 pm

mmm... I have yet another initialization order in my arm7 code, but I don't think this is the problem...

btw now I have no way to run other tests until September because my friend is on vacation, we will test later and we'll see if we can reproduce the bug in a simple test program so that you also could check it.

See you then...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest