Can't Compile Examples??? (Ubuntu 8.04)

support for the ARM toolchain
sabaal

Can't Compile Examples??? (Ubuntu 8.04)

Post by sabaal » Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:22 pm

Hi there. I'm somewhat new to devkitPro, as well as homebrew in general, and I've been running into some problems compiling the code in the example package I downloaded. I'll use the toon shading demo as an example of the output I'm getting:

Code: Select all

... /examples/Graphics/3D/Misc/Toon_Shading$ make
main.cpp
arm-eabi-g++ -MMD -MP -MF /home/sabaal/Dev/DS/examples/Graphics/3D/Misc/Toon_Shading/build/main.d -g -Wall -O2 -mcpu=arm9tdmi -mtune=arm9tdmi -fomit-frame-pointer -ffast-math -mthumb -mthumb-interwork -I/home/sabaal/Dev/DS/examples/Graphics/3D/Misc/Toon_Shading/include -I/usr/local/devkitPro/libnds/include -I/usr/local/devkitPro/libnds/include -I/home/sabaal/Dev/DS/examples/Graphics/3D/Misc/Toon_Shading/build -DARM9 -fno-rtti -fno-exceptions -c /home/sabaal/Dev/DS/examples/Graphics/3D/Misc/Toon_Shading/source/main.cpp -o main.o
as: unrecognized option `-mcpu=arm9tdmi'
make[1]: *** [main.o] Error 1
make: *** [build] Error 2
Now, I have NO IDEA what this option does, and I can't find anything resembling coherent documentation on the subject. To top it off, I hate makefiles and have therefore learned nothing about them that would be of use to me here. However, a simple text search found the following:

Code: Select all

# note: arm9tdmi isn't the correct CPU arch, but anything newer and LD
# *insists* it has a FPU or VFP, and it won't take no for an answer!
CFLAGS	:=	-g -Wall -O2\
 			-mcpu=arm9tdmi -mtune=arm9tdmi -fomit-frame-pointer\
			-ffast-math \
			$(ARCH)
So... the option that's giving me problems is considered "incorrect" anyway? I have no idea what else I might try here (or what LD, FPU, or VFP are).