No rule to make target `build/Makefile'.

support for the ARM toolchain
Zedwick

No rule to make target `build/Makefile'.

Post by Zedwick » Thu Apr 24, 2008 8:41 pm

Hi, I'm very new to devkitpro (and my previous programming knowledge is the likes of PHP). I'm trying to get into programming wih some NDS coding, so i've been following Dovoto's NDS Tutorials, and I've gotten stuck on day 1 :P.

(tutorial can be found here: http://www.dev-scene.com/NDS/Tutorials_Day_1)

In his 'First Demo' section I am given some code and told to compile it using a template from the Devkitpro templates. But when i tried to compile it i get the following error:
ZedBook:/opt/local/devkitpro/demo1 zedwick$ make
make[2]: /opt/local/devkitPro/demo1/build/Makefile: No such file or directory
make[2]: *** No rule to make target `/opt/local/devkitPro/demo1/build/Makefile'. Stop.
make[1]: *** [build] Error 2
make: *** [build] Error 2

WinterMute
Site Admin

Re: No rule to make target `build/Makefile'.

Post by WinterMute » Fri Apr 25, 2008 12:47 pm

You've done something wrong somewhere, it's kind of hard to say what without seeing your machine to be honest.

This is what happened when I ran a quick test, maybe it'll help point you in the right direction.

Code: Select all

davem@straylight:$ cp -rv /opt/devkitpro/examples/nds/templates/arm9 demo1
`/opt/devkitpro/examples/nds/templates/arm9' -> `demo1'
`/opt/devkitpro/examples/nds/templates/arm9/template.prj' -> `demo1/template.prj'
`/opt/devkitpro/examples/nds/templates/arm9/Makefile' -> `demo1/Makefile'
`/opt/devkitpro/examples/nds/templates/arm9/source' -> `demo1/source'
`/opt/devkitpro/examples/nds/templates/arm9/source/main.c' -> `demo1/source/main.c'
`/opt/devkitpro/examples/nds/templates/arm9/template.pnproj' -> `demo1/template.pnproj'
davem@straylight:$ cd demo1/
davem@straylight:$ make
main.c