Make (to create build) error

renewreborn
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 4:49 pm

Make (to create build) error

Post by renewreborn » Sat Jun 16, 2018 4:54 pm

Hello,

I'm not sure whether this question is related here. Anyway, I'm trying to compile and build something for a GBA hack. When I opened up CMD and typed in Make. The follow appeared and this error message appeared.

Image

Can anyone help me?

WinterMute
Site Admin
Posts: 1845
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Make (to create build) error

Post by WinterMute » Sat Jun 16, 2018 6:54 pm

Looks like you might be missing grit.

How did you install everything? Is whatever you're building available on github or something?
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

Personal Blog

renewreborn
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: Make (to create build) error

Post by renewreborn » Sun Jun 17, 2018 12:22 am

WinterMute wrote:Looks like you might be missing grit.

How did you install everything? Is whatever you're building available on github or something?
This is what I'm trying to install:
https://github.com/Touched/MegaEvolution

WinterMute
Site Admin
Posts: 1845
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Make (to create build) error

Post by WinterMute » Sun Jun 17, 2018 1:17 am

Replace https://github.com/Touched/MegaEvolutio ... file#L1-L6 with this

Code: Select all

include $(DEVKITPRO)/devkitARM/base_tools
export LD	:=	$(PREFIX)ld
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

Personal Blog

renewreborn
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: Make (to create build) error

Post by renewreborn » Sun Jun 17, 2018 1:13 pm

WinterMute wrote:Replace https://github.com/Touched/MegaEvolutio ... file#L1-L6 with this

Code: Select all

include $(DEVKITPRO)/devkitARM/base_tools
export LD	:=	$(PREFIX)ld
I've replaced it with exactly that, but now this appears

Image

WinterMute
Site Admin
Posts: 1845
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Make (to create build) error

Post by WinterMute » Mon Jun 18, 2018 1:20 am

What's the output of these commands?

Code: Select all

which make
make --version
echo %PATH%
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

Personal Blog

renewreborn
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: Make (to create build) error

Post by renewreborn » Mon Jun 18, 2018 2:13 am

WinterMute wrote:What's the output of these commands?

Code: Select all

which make
make --version
echo %PATH%
Sorry, what do you mean?

If it means anything, I've installed the latest Devprokit in the root of the C: Drive (C:\devprokit)

I downloaded the GitHub and placed it into the folder "mega" in the root of my desktop. I then created a folder within that folder labelled "build".

I downloaded GnuWin Make 3.81 and installed it into my computer. I've copied the content inside the "Make 3.81's BIN" folder into the "Mega" folder.

I opened the "CMD" in the folder and then typed in "make" and that error appeared :/

WinterMute
Site Admin
Posts: 1845
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Make (to create build) error

Post by WinterMute » Mon Jun 18, 2018 3:03 am

renewreborn wrote: Sorry, what do you mean?

If it means anything, I've installed the latest Devprokit in the root of the C: Drive (C:\devprokit)
I have no idea what this means. Did you use the installer as specified here https://devkitpro.org/wiki/Getting_Started

I downloaded the GitHub and placed it into the folder "mega" in the root of my desktop. I then created a folder within that folder labelled "build".
It's really best not to place these things on your desktop. Spaces in the paths can cause issues.
I downloaded GnuWin Make 3.81 and installed it into my computer. I've copied the content inside the "Make 3.81's BIN" folder into the "Mega" folder.
This was a terrible idea. You should uninstall GnuWin Make 3.81 at the very least and probably delete the Mega folder then start again fresh.

the devkitPro installer sets up msys2 which contains all the unix tools you need. Please don't use other unix tools simultaneously, they will cause problems.
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

Personal Blog

renewreborn
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: Make (to create build) error

Post by renewreborn » Mon Jun 18, 2018 8:19 am

WinterMute wrote:
renewreborn wrote: Sorry, what do you mean?

If it means anything, I've installed the latest Devprokit in the root of the C: Drive (C:\devprokit)
I have no idea what this means. Did you use the installer as specified here https://devkitpro.org/wiki/Getting_Started

I downloaded the GitHub and placed it into the folder "mega" in the root of my desktop. I then created a folder within that folder labelled "build".
It's really best not to place these things on your desktop. Spaces in the paths can cause issues.
I downloaded GnuWin Make 3.81 and installed it into my computer. I've copied the content inside the "Make 3.81's BIN" folder into the "Mega" folder.
This was a terrible idea. You should uninstall GnuWin Make 3.81 at the very least and probably delete the Mega folder then start again fresh.

the devkitPro installer sets up msys2 which contains all the unix tools you need. Please don't use other unix tools simultaneously, they will cause problems.
Okay. How do I build it using Msys2? Like what are the commands?

WinterMute
Site Admin
Posts: 1845
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Make (to create build) error

Post by WinterMute » Mon Jun 18, 2018 3:19 pm

renewreborn wrote: Okay. How do I build it using Msys2? Like what are the commands?

Code: Select all

make
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

Personal Blog

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests