Error when trying to compile a GBA project.

Jontrium

Error when trying to compile a GBA project.

Post by Jontrium » Sun Jan 06, 2019 2:39 am

Hello, my name is Jontrium and I'm new to GBA programming. So recently, I've been trying to compile this MusicTest project I found on an online tutorial [edit: link to bad tutorial removed]. But I keep getting the following error:

C:\Users\Jontrium>cd C:\Users\Jontrium\Desktop\MusicTest

C:\Users\Jontrium\Desktop\MusicTest>make
Makefile:16: c/devkitpro/ton-code/code/tonc_rules: No such file or directory
make: *** No rule to make target 'c/devkitpro/ton-code/code/tonc_rules'. Stop.

C:\Users\Jontrium\Desktop\MusicTest>

The error message itself makes no sense to me since I do have the c/devkitpro/ton-code/code/tonc_rules directory.
If you know how to fix this please tell me how, I'll really appreciate it!
Cheers.

WinterMute
Site Admin

Re: Error when trying to compile a GBA project.

Post by WinterMute » Wed Jan 23, 2019 1:18 am

Unfortunately the vast majority of tutorials you'll find on the internet are really quite bad and often provide instructions and/or advice which will break the tools.

For that reason I'm going to advise that you uninstall the tools & start over from scratch. Once you've done that then please ignore the video and the ebook you've found then reinstall the tools using the latest installer from https://github.com/devkitPro/installer/releases/latest

Currently we're looking at possibly replacing libgba with libtonc or merging the two libraries and replacing the current example code. Either way we've moved on a long way since many of the tutorials you'll find anywhere on the internet & unfortunately helping people undo the damage from those takes up rather a lot of our time so we've never really managed to produced decent tutorials of our own.