dsdoom source

elhobbs
Posts: 352
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:19 pm

Re: dsdoom source

Post by elhobbs » Wed May 11, 2011 12:11 am

why bother? just let people adust the brightness up and down.

happy_bunny
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 10:13 pm

Re: dsdoom source

Post by happy_bunny » Wed May 11, 2011 10:39 pm

it turns out DStoggleBrightness is never called so I just removed the function ;-) here's the new source

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=E08UGXP3

everythings working sound etc .. the only issue remaining is wifi.

eradsoft
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:34 pm
Location: Either side of South Bypass, Madrid, Spain

Re: dsdoom source

Post by eradsoft » Thu May 12, 2011 7:39 am

Thanks for the work,
In order to test it I suppose you need
levels or something ???
I tested it under HBmenu on my lite
choosing Standard Game and exited
--------------------------------
Welcome, my son, to the machine.
Pink Floyd.

happy_bunny
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 10:13 pm

Re: dsdoom source

Post by happy_bunny » Thu May 12, 2011 8:24 am

yer you need

doom.wad (doom.wad can be any version of doom just rename it to doom.wad to play)
prboom.wad

in the root of the sd card.

eradsoft
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:34 pm
Location: Either side of South Bypass, Madrid, Spain

Re: dsdoom source

Post by eradsoft » Thu May 12, 2011 11:34 am

Sorry, con you tell me anywhere to
find one of those files?
It´s ages since I last played doom
--------------------------------
Welcome, my son, to the machine.
Pink Floyd.

happy_bunny
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 10:13 pm

Re: dsdoom source

Post by happy_bunny » Thu May 12, 2011 8:13 pm

shareware doom wad was provided with the original ds doom download, http://code.google.com/p/dsdoom/downloads/list

stick them in the root of your sd card dsdoom should now boot ok

eradsoft
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:34 pm
Location: Either side of South Bypass, Madrid, Spain

Re: dsdoom source

Post by eradsoft » Thu May 12, 2011 8:52 pm

Thanks a lot, I tried public files found over there and did not work.
It's great: the old magic, same levels, same effects...
I couldn´t stop progressing through the first three levels: a classic.
I expect to learn a lot from the sources.
--------------------------------
Welcome, my son, to the machine.
Pink Floyd.

happy_bunny
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 10:13 pm

Re: dsdoom source

Post by happy_bunny » Sat May 14, 2011 12:19 am

dsdoom wifi is working again ;-)

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=W8WY3472

WinterMute
Site Admin
Posts: 1361
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: dsdoom source

Post by WinterMute » Wed May 18, 2011 12:29 am

Can you create a diff against the orginal doom sources & attach it to the issue tracker, I'll update the source there & put a new build on the google project.

http://code.google.com/p/dsdoom/

I've been meaning to try to update this to the latest prboom sources and attempt to redo the port for a standard configure && make but haven't had the time or motivation lately. Might see if I can dig out the old dsdoom.com website & get it up & running again, it fell by the wayside a bit after a few server moves.
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

devkitPro IRC support
Personal Blog

happy_bunny
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 10:13 pm

Re: dsdoom source

Post by happy_bunny » Mon May 23, 2011 9:35 am

I have attached the diff to the google project can you re-build and let me now if the diff is ok.

I would like to get the in game music working, my idea is to convert the mus to midi and the use an external program (goldwave) to convert midi file to *.raw file (ie unsigned char audio data). Then I was going to load this external file when the level starts, my question is whats the best way to play this file using libnds ? should I us streaming or soundPlaySample or something else ?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests