View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 2:50 pm



Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
 any way to make more use of space?/improve drawing distance? 
Author Message

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 10:47 pm
Posts: 210
I guess I had a misunderstanding from the documentation. It appeared as if it was implying that texture slots 2 and 3 were dedicated for the clear image bitmap and depth data. After doing an in-depth review of the 3D Engine (specifically the texture engine), I see that slots 2 and 3 are only used for this purpose if you enable GL_CLEAR_BMP. I apologize for providing incorrect information. I never seem to cease learning new things when it comes to the NDS hardware.


Thu Sep 22, 2011 4:11 am
Profile

Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 7:24 pm
Posts: 103
Banks C and D can be used for the rear-plane image, but it isn't restricted to it. It's just identified as those banks are the only ones that can have that set up, much like how the combination of A, B, and C can be used for compressed textures, but not bank D.


Thu Sep 22, 2011 5:59 am
Profile

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 10:47 pm
Posts: 210
That's interesting, because I could not find anything that states those restrictions. From what I understand, you can map VRAM Banks A-D as Texture Slots 0-3 in any combination you want (e.g. Bank A can be Slot 1, Bank B Slot 3, Bank C Slot 2, Bank D Slot 0 if you want), and that rear-plane bitmap/depth can be a function of Slots 2/3, respectively. Additionally, compressed textures are tied to Slots 0/2 for image data and Slot 1 for palette index data. That is to say, texture functionalities are tied to texture slots, not the VRAM Banks that host them.

So, it would be nice if someone could clarify this discrepancy for me.


Thu Sep 22, 2011 2:46 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:05 pm
Posts: 212
dont you think thats what he meant? it is not typical to consider the case that the banks A-D may be mapped to something other than slots 1-4


Thu Sep 22, 2011 7:41 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 10:47 pm
Posts: 210
I just wanted to make sure my understanding was correct.


Thu Sep 22, 2011 7:51 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 3:14 am
Posts: 52
Location: United States
sorry took so long to reply
thanks @zeromus:
i tested out the the gluPerspective() & it worked for changing the drawing distance.

& yes i have been using the NDS_Model_Exporter so far to convert 64x64 textures to 16-bit nintendo ds textures, & everything you see on sandbox engine ds-dsi. using vram banks A,B,C, & D. i was using nitro engine.
now im trying to use straight devkitpro & libnds because that seems more open currently working on converting everything over.
anyone nkow if its possible to load models, textures, ect from a seperate main file?


Sat Oct 01, 2011 9:29 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:05 pm
Posts: 212
I dont know what a separate main file are. If youre asking if you can load "nitro-engine" files without all the associated machinery of nitro-engine, that sounds rather unlikely, doesn't it? You may have to do quite a bit of picking-apart of nitro-engine if thats the case.


Sun Oct 02, 2011 4:04 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 3:14 am
Posts: 52
Location: United States
sorry i misphreased that i meant like, use more than one source file like for instance.
main.cpp, weapons.cpp, maps.cpp. sprites.cpp, backgrounds.cpp, ect
nvm tho, its not really that important, i saw someone do it before & was wondering if it was easier.
im trying to do it in devkitARM/libnds(without nitro engine)


Sun Oct 02, 2011 8:38 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
  Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software.
Get devkitPro at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads