How do I make a3i5 and a5i3 textures?

Post Reply
relminator
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:43 am

How do I make a3i5 and a5i3 textures?

Post by relminator » Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:22 am

Hi I've seen the new paletted cube example and it used a3i5 textures. How do I make those types of textures?

Is there an image editor that supports that?


Thanks!

zeromus
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:05 pm

Re: How do I make a3i5 and a5i3 textures?

Post by zeromus » Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:44 am

grit converts from from any rgba32 file. any serious bitmap editor can handle alpha. but you'd be well advised not to use TGA, as TGA is the worst format ever for 32bpp files. Like if you drop those in photoshop, theyll malfunction until you do some black magic which is idiotic. You can drop the same thing in paint.net and it works normally. Use PNG instead, if grit supports it.

WinterMute
Site Admin
Posts: 1336
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: How do I make a3i5 and a5i3 textures?

Post by WinterMute » Fri Aug 24, 2012 10:15 am

grit supports png just fine - it handles everything supported by FreeImage.
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

devkitPro IRC support
Personal Blog

relminator
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:43 am

Re: How do I make a3i5 and a5i3 textures?

Post by relminator » Sat Aug 25, 2012 3:56 am

Thanks I'll try to fiddle around with Paint.net and Paintshop pro 7 here.

I suck at doing art. :D

relminator
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:43 am

Re: How do I make a3i5 and a5i3 textures?

Post by relminator » Mon Aug 27, 2012 8:13 am

LOL. Didn't know grit can convert true colors to a3i5. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests