DS Firmware Settings

Derrik

DS Firmware Settings

Post by Derrik » Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:31 pm

I haven't found a lot of data about using the PersonalData struct and have run into a lot of trouble, I am a noob it seems.

The nickname is stored as s16[10], why is this? Why not just char[10]? What's more, is that there is no space for a NULL truncator (\0).

I first attempted to typecast it:

printf("Casted: %s", (char[10])PersonalData->name);

With a resultant compile error, I switched to this approach:

char username[11];
memset(username, 0, 11);
int i = 0;
for(i = 0; i < PersonalData->nameLen; i++) username = PersonalData->name;
printf("Nickname: %s", username);

Which works, but it just seems... Dumb. Is there a better way which I am missing?

Another problem I have is that attempting to write to this struct is only temporary, and my changes are reverted next time I turn on the DS:

PersonalData->name[0] = (s16)'k';

printf("Nickname: %s\n", username);

Is there a way to modify the actual settings in the DS firmware?

Thanks.

HarukaKaminari

Re: DS Firmware Settings

Post by HarukaKaminari » Sat Sep 21, 2013 1:26 pm

Derrik wrote:The nickname is stored as s16[10], why is this? Why not just char[10]? What's more, is that there is no space for a NULL truncator (\0).
The nickname string is in UTF-16 format. So it must be stored as s16[]. Since there is a variable in PersonalData indicating the length of the nickname, terminator is not necessary. http://nocash.emubase.de/gbatek.htm#dsf ... ersettings
Derrik wrote: char username[11];
memset(username, 0, 11);
int i = 0;
printf("Nickname: %s", username);

It indeed works, and this is not a dumb method. However the string is in UTF-16 format, so this solution only works good when the nickname contains only ASCII characters. If the nickname contains Japanese Hiragana/Katakana or symbols that can not be coded in single-byte, it will output garbage.