Using 2 cpus?

support for the PSP toolchain
Post Reply
ozzyyzzo
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 7:23 pm
Location: greece

Using 2 cpus?

Post by ozzyyzzo » Fri Oct 15, 2010 6:42 am

Hello,

What is the recommended method to make a proper use of both 333Mhz Cpus? if it is possible..

WinterMute
Site Admin
Posts: 1478
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Using 2 cpus?

Post by WinterMute » Fri Oct 15, 2010 1:08 pm

There's only one CPU in the PSP ...
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

Personal Blog

ozzyyzzo
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 7:23 pm
Location: greece

Re: Using 2 cpus?

Post by ozzyyzzo » Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:55 am

Ok, i haven't got any psp around to open it myself but from wikipedia ->

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStatio ... Hardware_2
(notice: two 333 MHz MIPS32 R4000-based CPUs)

The Main CPU is allegrex while second CPU is supposed to be called the Media engine/block.

So i was wandering, if there was a way to access and run your code on both CPUs, even from now only a single one can be accessed..

Thanks....

WinterMute
Site Admin
Posts: 1478
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Using 2 cpus?

Post by WinterMute » Sat Oct 16, 2010 1:06 pm

Wackypedia is wrong, the PSP only has one CPU.
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

Personal Blog

ozzyyzzo
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 7:23 pm
Location: greece

Re: Using 2 cpus?

Post by ozzyyzzo » Sun Oct 17, 2010 11:56 am

well, as far as the media engine can execute mips code in //, has got its own 2-4Mb ram and of course a full bag of limitations in its use..

Can't we consider it as a second cpu ?

http://lukasz.dk/mirror/forums.ps2dev.o ... sc&start=0

You have already code for basic ME access from the PSPSDK samples (devkitPro\devkitPSP\psp\sdk\samples\me) but the MediaEngine.prx seems really interesting.

Kronus980
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 12:54 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Using 2 cpus?

Post by Kronus980 » Sat Nov 13, 2010 6:42 am

ozzyyzzo wrote:well, as far as the media engine can execute mips code in //, has got its own 2-4Mb ram and of course a full bag of limitations in its use..

Can't we consider it as a second cpu ?

http://lukasz.dk/mirror/forums.ps2dev.o ... sc&start=0

You have already code for basic ME access from the PSPSDK samples (devkitPro\devkitPSP\psp\sdk\samples\me) but the MediaEngine.prx seems really interesting.
It's a chip, indeed, but he's getting more specific. Saying that there is only 1central processing unit. (CPU) Central, declaring itself the main processor. And yes, the psp is pretty amazing ^.^ Where/why I started learning C.

WinterMute
Site Admin
Posts: 1478
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Using 2 cpus?

Post by WinterMute » Sun Nov 14, 2010 1:59 am

Actually that's not what I was saying at all, I was completely unaware of the second mips core in there :/

Unfortunately ps2dev.org seems to be rather flaky these days & all I can seem to find is the thread ozzyyzzo linked to.

Where do people talk about psp dev these days? Even the usual IRC channels seem to be dead.
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

Personal Blog

Kronus980
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 12:54 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Using 2 cpus?

Post by Kronus980 » Fri Dec 03, 2010 7:25 am

WinterMute wrote:Actually that's not what I was saying at all, I was completely unaware of the second mips core in there :/

Unfortunately ps2dev.org seems to be rather flaky these days & all I can seem to find is the thread ozzyyzzo linked to.

Where do people talk about psp dev these days? Even the usual IRC channels seem to be dead.
Sorry about the late post but yeah, it gots 3 :D And you can learn more about them and what they do at http://www.wiki.ps2dev.org. And Idk, I think one of the last few safe havens is http://www.psp-programming.com/.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests