Newbie here!

NeoSnk

Newbie here!

Post by NeoSnk » Wed Jun 24, 2020 11:34 pm

Hello everyone, I'm trying to port my SDL games to the Nintendo Wii, but in both tutorials I found I can't get through this step:

Download and copy the PPC ported libraries to your portlibs folder (on Windows this is c:\devkitPro\portlibs\ppc)

I can't find these PPC libraries anywhere the links are broken (Maybe it is not necessary anymore?)

I have been working for 3 years in a SDL engine for the Sega Dreamcast and I would love to get the same games running on Nintendo Wii too :)

Here is my project:
https://titangamestudios.com/2017/04/22 ... titan-ide/

Thanks a lot for the help.

WinterMute
Site Admin

Re: Newbie here!

Post by WinterMute » Thu Jun 25, 2020 2:04 pm

Sorry to say that all tutorials should be considered out of date and contain poor advice. Almost nobody consults us before trying to instruct people on how to use our tools and libraries and unfortunately we kind of ended up in a vicious cycle of trying to clean up after people who don't consider the wider picture and help victims of poor tutorials which leaves pretty much no time to address that situation better.

If you've installed anything within your devkitpro folder from 3rd parties (i.e. not from us) then we would advise nuking the install and starting over from scratch. wiki/Getting_Started isn't fantastic but we've iterated on install processes a lot before finally settling on pacman.

Code: Select all

(sudo) (dkp-)pacman -S wii-sdl-libs
The parts in brackets depend on your host system and how pacman is provided - i.e. with msys2 there is no sudo & you can just run pacman. For systems where pacman has been provided by native package manager then it will be sudo pacman. For systems where we've provided the pacman binaries then it's sudo dkp-pacman.