Emulator crash after eglCreateWindowSurface()

Tenry

Emulator crash after eglCreateWindowSurface()

Post by Tenry » Tue Oct 19, 2021 1:38 am

I am new to Switch homebrewing and I'm about to port my existing mini engine (originally written in C++ using SDL2 + OpenGL 4.3) to the Switch. It seems that I can not go with SDL2 + OpenGL (using my own OpenGL code), so I am following the existing examples using EGL + OpenGL. I am testing the builds *.nro file) in the yuzu and ryujinx emulators.

Depending on how far I got into my code, I am no longer able to do "consoleInit(nullptr);" + printing some debug or error messages. The exact point after which I am not able anymore is after I called eglCreateWindowSurface(). The yuzu emulator for example keeps haning on the emulator's "loading" screen. I'm unsure if anything until then went wrong, or if everything until then is just fine and something later doesn't work.

As for the EGL initialization part of my code, it looks like this:

Code: Select all

auto window = nwindowGetDefault();
nwindowSetDimensions(window, DISPLAY_WIDTH, DISPLAY_HEIGHT);

static const EGLint framebufferAttributeList[] = {
  EGL_RENDERABLE_TYPE, EGL_OPENGL_BIT,
  EGL_RED_SIZE,     8,
  EGL_GREEN_SIZE,   8,
  EGL_BLUE_SIZE,    8,
  EGL_ALPHA_SIZE,   8,
  EGL_DEPTH_SIZE,   24,
  EGL_STENCIL_SIZE, 8,
  EGL_NONE
};

static const EGLint contextAttributeList[] = {
  EGL_CONTEXT_OPENGL_PROFILE_MASK_KHR, EGL_CONTEXT_OPENGL_CORE_PROFILE_BIT_KHR,
  EGL_CONTEXT_MAJOR_VERSION, 4,
  EGL_CONTEXT_MINOR_VERSION, 3,
  EGL_NONE
};

mEglDisplay = eglGetDisplay(EGL_DEFAULT_DISPLAY);

if(!mEglDisplay) {
  throw new std::runtime_error(eglErrorToString(eglGetError()));
}

if(eglInitialize(mEglDisplay, nullptr, nullptr) == EGL_FALSE) {
}

if(eglBindAPI(EGL_OPENGL_API) == EGL_FALSE) {
}

EGLConfig config;
EGLint numConfigs;
eglChooseConfig(mEglDisplay, framebufferAttributeList, &config, 1, &numConfigs);

if(numConfigs == 0) {
}