GX matrices

davidgf

GX matrices

Post by davidgf » Mon May 09, 2011 2:05 pm

Hello!

I'm writing an OpenGL like implementation for GX (more a wrapper than an implementation) and I'm facing problems with some matrices.
Why the matrices involved at gluPerspective differ from the GU one? The calc. is slighlhy different.

Thank you very much!

David

Izhido

Re: GX matrices

Post by Izhido » Mon May 09, 2011 3:37 pm

I'm not an expert, or anything. However, from the DS side, I've noticed that the hardware 3D support is considerably different from what one would expect from OpenGL. A hint from this can be found in the fact that, again under DS, you can actually change *all of your matrices* while inside a glBegin() / glEnd() block, something that the standard strictly forbids. It's like OpenGL support was never considered for the hardware. Maybe that's what happens with Wii's hardware?

Having an OpenGL wrapper for Wii/DS is a good idea... for a few first attempts to coding with the consoles. As you grow, you'll find the hardware is different AND capable of much more, and you will want to go as close to the hardware as possible. In my opinion, and as someone who already tried creating an OpenGL wrapper to the DS, it's not that good of an idea to create such a wrapper, when it will end up not being used for serious coding.

My 2c.

davidgf

Post by davidgf » Mon May 09, 2011 7:23 pm

Hi!

I understand your example but that's not representative. I mean, the base of a 3D system is matrix-vector transformation. Based on this the matrices should be all equal and therefore obtain the same results. So there must be different matrix operations than just plain matrix multiplies right?

I can't find any documentation with high detail on the topic. Someone?