Page 1 of 1

Having a little trouble with gekko-gcc

Posted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 4:21 am
by dalc789
Hey, just starting to use devkitpro again after a long time. So i installed devkitppc, and i'm trying to compile the template 'hello world' program. However, whenever i try to do it, i get this:

> "make"
template.c
powerpc-gekko-gcc.exe: CreateProcess: No such file or directory
make[1]: *** [template.o] Error 1
"make": *** [build] Error 2

> Process Exit Code: 2
> Time Taken: 00:00

I'm trying to compile it by going to tools > make in programmer's notepad. I've tried reinstalling devkitpro several times. I see a gcc.exe in devkitpro/devkitppc/powerpc-gekko/bin, is that where it's supposed to be? I used the search function and haven't seen any helpful topics. Any help would be appreciated :mrgreen:

Re: Having a little trouble with gekko-gcc

Posted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 11:42 am
by WinterMute
Which devkitPPC version are you using & which OS?

Re: Having a little trouble with gekko-gcc

Posted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 3:15 pm
by dalc789
the devkitproupdate.ini says i'm using version 16a, and I'm on vista 32 bit

edit: I installed it on my 32 bit vista laptop also to see if it was something wrong with my computer, and got the same error. is there something wrong with this release and vista? or am i doing something very wrong :oops:

Re: Having a little trouble with gekko-gcc

Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 11:15 pm
by WinterMute
Not sure right now, this looks like an old Vista problem that was solved a while ago.

Open a cmd shell & type "set > env.txt", paste the output here - mainly I'm interested in the system path and the contents of the DEVKITPRO & DEVKITPPC variables.

It actually looks like you may have the environment variables set incorrectly - DEVKITPRO should be something like /c/devkitPro & DEVKITPPC should be /c/devkitPro/devkitPPC, note the *nix style path.

Re: Having a little trouble with gekko-gcc

Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 11:30 pm
by dalc789

Code: Select all

ALLUSERSPROFILE=C:\ProgramData
APPDATA=C:\Users\Dolan\AppData\Roaming
CLASSPATH=C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.6.0_04\bin\javac.exe;C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\lib\ext\QTJava.zip
commonfiles=C:\Program Files\Common Files
CommonProgramFiles=C:\Program Files\Common Files
COMPUTERNAME=DOLAN-PC
ComSpec=C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe
DEVKITARM=/c/devkitPro/devkitARM
DEVKITPPC=/c/devkitPro/devkitPPC
DEVKITPRO=/c/devkitPro
DEVKITPSP=/c/devkitPro/devkitPSP
DXSDK_DIR=C:\Program Files\Microsoft DirectX SDK (August 2007)\
FP_NO_HOST_CHECK=NO
HOMEDRIVE=C:
HOMEPATH=\Users\Dolan
KMP_DUPLICATE_LIB_OK=TRUE
LOCALAPPDATA=C:\Users\Dolan\AppData\Local
LOGONSERVER=\\DOLAN-PC
MIBDIRS=\mibs
mydocuments=C:\Users\Dolan\Desktop
NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS=2
OGRE_HOME=c:\OgreSDK
OMP_NUM_THREADS=2
OS=Windows_NT
PAPATH=c:/devkitPro/PAlib/
Path=C:\Windows;c:\devkitPro\msys\bin;C:\Program Files\Microsoft DirectX SDK (August 2007)\Utilities\Bin\x86;C:\Program Files\PHP\;C:\Windows\system32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\Wbem;C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Backburner\;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\;C:\Program Files\backburner 2\;C:\Program Files\PolyTrans;C:\Program Files\IDM Computer Solutions\UltraEdit-32;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Softimage;C:\Program Files\Smart Projects\IsoBuster;C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_04\bin;C:\Program Files\TortoiseSVN\bin;C:\Program Files\Lina Software\LINA Runtime Environment\..\File System\bin;C:\Program Files\Lina Software\LINA Runtime Environment\..\File System\sbin;C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTSystem\;C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\90\Tools\binn\;C:\Sun\SDK\bin;C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 9\Scripts\Cryptic AR;C:\Program Files\DLDIrc;;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Ahead\Lib\;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Ahead\Lib\;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Ahead\Lib\
PATHEXT=.COM;.EXE;.BAT;.CMD;.VBS;.VBE;.JS;.JSE;.WSF;.WSH;.MSC
PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE=x86
PROCESSOR_IDENTIFIER=x86 Family 15 Model 107 Stepping 1, AuthenticAMD
PROCESSOR_LEVEL=15
PROCESSOR_REVISION=6b01
progfiles=C:\Program Files
ProgramData=C:\ProgramData
ProgramFiles=C:\Program Files
PROMPT=$P$G
PUBLIC=C:\Users\Public
QTJAVA=C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\lib\ext\QTJava.zip
SESSIONNAME=Console
systemdir=C:\Windows\system32
SystemDrive=C:
SystemRoot=C:\Windows
TEMP=C:\Users\Dolan\AppData\Local\Temp
TMP=C:\Users\Dolan\AppData\Local\Temp
USERDOMAIN=Dolan-PC
USERNAME=Dolan
USERPROFILE=C:\Users\Dolan
VLIGHT_ROOT=F:\trueSpace76\tS\VirtuaLight
VS80COMNTOOLS=C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\Common7\Tools\
VS90COMNTOOLS=C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\Common7\Tools\
windir=C:\Windows
XNAGSShared=C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\XNA\
XNAGSv2=C:\Program Files\Microsoft XNA\XNA Game Studio\v2.0\
XNAGSv3=C:\Program Files\Microsoft XNA\XNA Game Studio\v3.0\
from the look of it, the paths are set correctly. tried running the makefile through cmd and it still happened. is there something that might be interfering with it?

Re: Having a little trouble with gekko-gcc

Posted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 9:24 am
by dontwantanick
Did you restart windows after the installation? devkitPro doesn't ask you to do it, but it's necessary.

Re: Having a little trouble with gekko-gcc

Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:42 pm
by dalc789
yeah, i did try that, but it still didn't work.

ah well, i ended up getting xp on my laptop and now it works. thanks for helping anyway. i guess maybe there's still some issues with vista?

Re: Having a little trouble with gekko-gcc

Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 5:26 pm
by WinterMute
Other people seem to have no trouble with Vista so I'm a bit stumped atm really.

What's the system path set to on your Vista laptop?

Re: Having a little trouble with gekko-gcc

Posted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 10:04 pm
by dontwantanick
Vista? Did you try to run it with admin rights?