View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Nov 16, 2018 4:52 pm



Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Make (to create build) error 
Author Message

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 4:49 pm
Posts: 6
Hello,

I'm not sure whether this question is related here. Anyway, I'm trying to compile and build something for a GBA hack. When I opened up CMD and typed in Make. The follow appeared and this error message appeared.

Image

Can anyone help me?


Sat Jun 16, 2018 4:54 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Posts: 1300
Location: UK
Looks like you might be missing grit.

How did you install everything? Is whatever you're building available on github or something?

_________________
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

devkitPro IRC support
Personal Blog


Sat Jun 16, 2018 6:54 pm
Profile ICQ WWW

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 4:49 pm
Posts: 6
WinterMute wrote:
Looks like you might be missing grit.

How did you install everything? Is whatever you're building available on github or something?


This is what I'm trying to install:
https://github.com/Touched/MegaEvolution


Sun Jun 17, 2018 12:22 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Posts: 1300
Location: UK
Replace https://github.com/Touched/MegaEvolutio ... file#L1-L6 with this

Code:
include $(DEVKITPRO)/devkitARM/base_tools
export LD   :=   $(PREFIX)ld

_________________
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

devkitPro IRC support
Personal Blog


Sun Jun 17, 2018 1:17 am
Profile ICQ WWW

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 4:49 pm
Posts: 6
WinterMute wrote:
Replace https://github.com/Touched/MegaEvolutio ... file#L1-L6 with this

Code:
include $(DEVKITPRO)/devkitARM/base_tools
export LD   :=   $(PREFIX)ld


I've replaced it with exactly that, but now this appears

Image


Sun Jun 17, 2018 1:13 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Posts: 1300
Location: UK
What's the output of these commands?
Code:
which make
make --version
echo %PATH%

_________________
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

devkitPro IRC support
Personal Blog


Mon Jun 18, 2018 1:20 am
Profile ICQ WWW

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 4:49 pm
Posts: 6
WinterMute wrote:
What's the output of these commands?
Code:
which make
make --version
echo %PATH%


Sorry, what do you mean?

If it means anything, I've installed the latest Devprokit in the root of the C: Drive (C:\devprokit)

I downloaded the GitHub and placed it into the folder "mega" in the root of my desktop. I then created a folder within that folder labelled "build".

I downloaded GnuWin Make 3.81 and installed it into my computer. I've copied the content inside the "Make 3.81's BIN" folder into the "Mega" folder.

I opened the "CMD" in the folder and then typed in "make" and that error appeared :/


Mon Jun 18, 2018 2:13 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Posts: 1300
Location: UK
renewreborn wrote:
Sorry, what do you mean?

If it means anything, I've installed the latest Devprokit in the root of the C: Drive (C:\devprokit)


I have no idea what this means. Did you use the installer as specified here wiki/Getting_Started


Quote:
I downloaded the GitHub and placed it into the folder "mega" in the root of my desktop. I then created a folder within that folder labelled "build".


It's really best not to place these things on your desktop. Spaces in the paths can cause issues.

Quote:
I downloaded GnuWin Make 3.81 and installed it into my computer. I've copied the content inside the "Make 3.81's BIN" folder into the "Mega" folder.


This was a terrible idea. You should uninstall GnuWin Make 3.81 at the very least and probably delete the Mega folder then start again fresh.

the devkitPro installer sets up msys2 which contains all the unix tools you need. Please don't use other unix tools simultaneously, they will cause problems.

_________________
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

devkitPro IRC support
Personal Blog


Mon Jun 18, 2018 3:03 am
Profile ICQ WWW

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 4:49 pm
Posts: 6
WinterMute wrote:
renewreborn wrote:
Sorry, what do you mean?

If it means anything, I've installed the latest Devprokit in the root of the C: Drive (C:\devprokit)


I have no idea what this means. Did you use the installer as specified here wiki/Getting_Started


Quote:
I downloaded the GitHub and placed it into the folder "mega" in the root of my desktop. I then created a folder within that folder labelled "build".


It's really best not to place these things on your desktop. Spaces in the paths can cause issues.

Quote:
I downloaded GnuWin Make 3.81 and installed it into my computer. I've copied the content inside the "Make 3.81's BIN" folder into the "Mega" folder.


This was a terrible idea. You should uninstall GnuWin Make 3.81 at the very least and probably delete the Mega folder then start again fresh.

the devkitPro installer sets up msys2 which contains all the unix tools you need. Please don't use other unix tools simultaneously, they will cause problems.


Okay. How do I build it using Msys2? Like what are the commands?


Mon Jun 18, 2018 8:19 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Posts: 1300
Location: UK
renewreborn wrote:
Okay. How do I build it using Msys2? Like what are the commands?

Code:
make

_________________
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

devkitPro IRC support
Personal Blog


Mon Jun 18, 2018 3:19 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
  Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software.
Get devkitPro at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads